Where My Vegans At?

I went through a phase last winter where I was experimenting with raw and vegan desserts. I don’t remember how it started but it most definitely ended with unrestrained ice cream consumption. The problem was that I discovered a secret ingredient that shamed all ice creams I had made before. Behold: the avocado! I found a recipe for raw chocolate ice cream that contained just three ingredients: avocado, raw cacao powder and raw agave nectar. Do not be put off by the avocado. It’s your raw and vegan key to extreme creaminess. The cacao totally covers the taste and your agave nectar makes it sweet. I’ve made countless ice creams since then using avocado as a base and remain baffled by it’s rich and creamy texture every. single. time. Today I offer a you a variation of this vegan treat. It’s a vegan chocolate goji ice cream.

This ice “cream” utilizes avocado, coconut milk, cocoa powder, goji berry powder, agave nectar and vanilla extract. I sprinkled some raw goji berries on top for an extra flavor kick and added texture. I’m all about variety when it comes to texture.

I’m not gonna lie, the goji powder isn’t cheap. You could try acai or pomegranate powders which are slightly cheaper if you’re feeling adventurous.

Vegan Chocolate Goji Ice Cream

Ingredients:

2 Ripe Avocados

1 14oz can Coconut Milk

1/2 C Unsweetened Cocoa Powder

1/3 C Goji Berry Powder

1/2 C Agave Nectar

1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

Optional Goji Berries for garnish

Directions: Halve and remove pits from avocados. Scoop avocado meet into a blender. Add coconut milk, cocoa powder, goji powder, agave nectar and vanilla extract. Blend on high speed until creamy and smooth. Freeze in ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions. Enjoy!

12 thoughts on “Where My Vegans At?

  1. Pingback: Cream and Cone | The Incuisition

  2. I just started reading “The Incuisition” and have been really enjoying it. I just bought the ice cream maker attachment for my Kitchen Aid mixer & have been dying to try it out. I will give this recipe a try – my very first attempt at making ice cream! Just wondering – do you find a change in color using avocados?

    • Thanks for following! I can never fully express the joy the comes from hearing from a reader who enjoys my blog. As for the avocados and their coloring, it really depends on the ice cream. I made a coconut key lime ice cream with avocado which did take on a bit of the green coloring. I was fine with that since it enhanced the visual idea of a “lime” flavor. As for chocolate ice creams, the darkness of the cocoa powder totally covers the avocado’s green.

  3. If I were not home alone I would create some ice creams, but it is much to dangerous to have homemade ice cream in my freezer. When I finally get to Pittsburgh and reunite with my Hunnie, we will create some, because I really like crazy ice cream.
    Where does all of this food go? Do you and Rudolf eat most of it? Do you have a personal trainer?
    Just kidding. Your blogs are fabulous, and I am excited about this ice cream blog.
    Cheers to you!

  4. I can’t wait to try out your ice cream recipes when I’m home in Maine this summer. We’re house sitting for a professor whose insanely stocked kitchen includes an ice cream maker. Hubby doesn’t like ice cream (only milkshakes) so it’ll be all for me! Wahoooo!

  5. This looks delicious! Good enough to pass my kids muster. Have you tried it with other sweeteners? Sugar? Honey? I find that agave has a very strong taste that I don’t like.

    • Honey and sugar are both suitable substitutes for agave in this case. While I do really like the flavor of agave, I use it whenever making a vegan ice cream because some vegans don’t eat honey. If you want to use honey go forth with the a 1:1 substitution of honey to agave. Once it’s blended give it a taste then decide if you’d like to add more. As for the sugar, there’s a slightly different process. Use 2/3 C granulated sugar and heat it with the can of coconut milk over medium/high heat until the sugar is dissolved. Once the milk has cooled slightly, blend it up with the other ingredients. Voila!

Leave a Reply

